menu

Daniel Bellemare C.R.

Daniel Bellemare, C. R.

Direct line : 514 499-7470
Fax : 514 499-7478
Email : dbellemare@donatimaisonneuve.ca

Assistant : Lise Talbot
Direct line : 514 499-7447
Email: ltalbot@donatimaisonneuve.ca


I have been acting as senior counsel at Donati Maisonneuve since 2007, and I take part in the firm’s business with great pride. I joined Donati Maisonneuve after more than 30 years as a partner with Desjardins Ducharme, one of Montreal’s major law firms.

I hold a law degree from Université Laval and I was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1968. I had the honour of being appointed Queen’s Counsel (QC) in 1990.

For more than 45 years, I have placed my experience and advice at the service of my clients in the areas of general litigation, insurance, liability of financial institutions, as well as of directors and officers, freedom of the press, libel and defamation. I have plead before all court jurisdictions in Quebec.

I have always considered my clients to be true partners with whom I develop a personal as well as a professional relationship characterized by trust and satisfaction. In so doing, we work closely together to meet specific targets as efficiently as possible.

My experience has offered me certain rather particular mandates. In 1990, accompanied by Chiefs Justice of Alberta, Manitoba and New Brunswick as well as Rosalie Abella, now judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, I sat on the inquiry committee created by the Canadian Judicial Council with the mandate to review the conduct of certain judges of the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal in the Donald Marshall Jr. affair.

I also represented a key witness as part of a public inquiry into the Oka crisis that lasted more than 128 days and that was chaired by ad hoc coroner Guy Gilbert, QC. I also acted for the Société générale de financement in the 2004 inquiry into cost overruns and delays at the site of the Gaspesia Pulp and Paper Company in Chandler, which led to recommendations to the government on corrective measures for the management and the labour relations on major work sites.

Over the years, my involvement in the Canadian Bar Association has led me to become President of the Quebec Branch and sit on its National Executive Committee for three years. I also co-chaired its 2008 National Convention held in Montreal. I have participated in several committees of the Quebec Bar, which regularly entrusts me with arbitration duties in disputes over lawyers’ fees.

I have sat on the Boards of the CHU Sainte-Justine Hospital Foundation, the Club de golf Laval-sur-le-Lac and the Women’s Y Foundation, where I was Vice-Chair for many years. I am currently deeply committed to the Fonds d’assurance des architectes as Vice-Chair of the Board, member of claims, prevention and subscription committee, member of the investment committee, and Chair of the ethics committee. I am also involved as Secretary for La Fondation Logis Rose Virginie who treats the problems of itinerance for women of Montreal.

I have acted as President of the Association des anciens de l’Université Laval à Montréal, and I have served on several occasions as honourary patron for various activities held by the CHU Sainte-Justine Hospital Foundation and the Fondation Ressources-Jeunesse. I have also had the pleasure of acting as president and lecturing at seminars organized among others by the Canadian Institute, Insight Information Inc. and the Association of Insurance Fellows.

I have been considered by the Expert Directory as highy skilled in litigation and in defamation and media law.

menu

Daniel Bellemare C.R.

Blart_20150617_105001_0011

Daniel Bellemare C.R.

Ligne directe : 514 499.7470
Télécopieur : 514 499.7478
Courriel : dbellemare@donatimaisonneuve.ca

Adjointe : Lise Talbot
Ligne directe : 514 499.7447
Courriel : ltalbot@donatimaisonneuve.ca


Je suis avocat-conseil au sein du cabinet Donati Maisonneuve depuis 2007 et c’est avec beaucoup de fierté que je prends part aux affaires de ce cabinet. Je m’y suis joint après avoir été associé durant plus de 30 ans chez Desjardins Ducharme, un des grands cabinets montréalais.

Diplômé en droit de l’Université Laval, j’ai été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1968. J’ai eu l’honneur d’être nommé conseiller de la reine (c.r.) en 1990.

Depuis plus de 45 ans, je mets mon expérience et mes conseils au service de mes clients dans les domaines du litige général, de l’assurance, de la responsabilité des institutions financières ainsi que des administrateurs et dirigeants, de la liberté de presse, du libelle et de la diffamation. J’ai plaidé devant tous les tribunaux du Québec.

J’ai toujours considéré mes clients comme de véritables partenaires, développant une relation tant personnelle que professionnelle teintée de confiance et de satisfaction. Ce faisant, en étroite collaboration, nous travaillons à atteindre les objectifs visés de façon la plus efficace possible.

Mon expérience m’a amené certains mandats fort particuliers. En 1990, en compagnie des juges en chef de l’Alberta, du Manitoba et du Nouveau-Brunswick et de Me Rosalie Abella, aujourd’hui juge à la Cour suprême du Canada, j’ai siégé sur le comité d’enquête créé par le Conseil canadien de la magistrature qui avait comme mandat d’étudier la conduite de certains juges de la Cour d’appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse dans l’affaire Donald Marshall junior.

J’ai aussi représenté un témoin-clé dans le cadre d’une enquête de plus de 128 jours sur la crise d’Oka, présidée par le coroner ad hoc, Me Guy Gilbert, c.r. J’ai également agi pour la Société générale de financement dans l’enquête qui s’est tenue en 2004 sur le dépassement des coûts et des délais du chantier de la Société Papiers Gaspésia de Chandler qui a mené à des recommandations faites au gouvernement sur des correctifs à apporter à l’égard de la gestion et des relations de travail sur les grands chantiers.

Au fil des ans, mon implication dans l’Association du Barreau canadien m’a mené à la présidence de sa division du Québec et à son exécutif national où j’ai siégé pendant trois ans. J’ai également coprésidé son congrès national de 2008 tenu à Montréal. J’ai participé à plusieurs comités du Barreau du Québec et celui-ci me confie régulièrement le mandat de présider des arbitrages de comptes d’avocats.

J’ai siégé aux conseils d’administration de la Fondation de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine, du Club de golf Laval-sur-le-Lac et de la Fondation du Y des femmes, où j’ai assumé la vice-présidence pendant de nombreuses années. Je suis actuellement fort engagé avec le Fonds d’assurance des architectes à titre de vice-président de son conseil d’administration, membre du comité des sinistres et président du comité de déontologie.

J’ai également présidé l’Association des anciens de l’Université Laval à Montréal et j’ai agi à plusieurs reprises à titre de patron d’honneur pour différentes activités de la Fondation de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justice et de la Fondation Ressources-Jeunesse. J’ai eu aussi le plaisir de participer à titre de président et de conférencier à des séminaires organisés notamment par le Canadian Institute, par Insight Information inc. et par l’Association des Fellows en assurance.

L’Expert Directory m’a considéré comme un praticien émérite dans le domaine du litige et en matière de diffamation et du droit des médias.